"The place where three really IS a magic number!" A radio program for kids and families that airs Saturdays from 9-10 AM EST on WRFL, 88.1 FM in Lexington KY.

Playlist 8/2/08

Umm… So, Hey! Have I mentioned that I’m really quite fond of this compilation? It was put together by some guys from a band called Tindersticks. I have to admit that I’ve never heard them, ’cause I’m just not that hip… BUT this is one of my fave various artist releases. It was kind of pricey, and I really didn’t expect much from it, so I was delightfully surprised by it. It comes packaged in a boardbook illustrated by Sexton Ming and features a number of laid back instrumentals and folk renditions…. done in a way that you don’t often hear them these days…. Oh! And some (kind of macabre) kids stories. And, to give it indie cred, there’s a cover of “Puff the Magic Dragon” by Bonnie Prince Billy. Well worth checking out!

I mention it because I accidentally played it twice this week on Ages 3 and Up! Here’s the other stuff I played:

The Free Design– “Sesame Street”- Sing For Very Important People
James Taylor– “Jellyman Kelly”- v/a Songs From the Street
Guy Davis– “I Will Be Your Friend”- v/a Sing Along With Putumayo
Los Lobos– “I Wanna Be Like You”- v/a Stay Awake
Cab Calloway– “The Jungle King”- v/a Nicky’s Jazz for Kids
They Might Be Giants– “Nine Bowls of Soup”- Here Come the 123’s
Ruckus Roboticus– “Here We Go”- Playing With Scratches
8 Minutes– “Here’s Some Dances”- v/a Homeschooled: The ABC’s of Kid Soul
Rockabye Baby– “Wouldn’t It Be Nice”- Lullaby Renditions of the Beach Boys
Mandy Miller– “Nelly the Elephant”- v/a Hello Children Everywhere
Pierre Arvey– “Merry Ocarina”- v/a Fuzzy Felt Folk
Cerys Matthews– “On White Horses”- v/a Songs For The Young at Heart
Jarvis Cocker– “The Lion and Albert”- v/a Songs For The Young at Heart
Burl Ives– “The Moon is The North Wind’s Cooky”- A Twinkle in Your Eye
Sam Hinton– “Whoever Shall Have Some Good Peanuts”- Whoever Shall Have Some Good Peanuts
Secret Agent 23 Skidoo– ” I Gotta Be Me”- Easy
Michael Hearst– “Ice Cream Yo!”- Songs For Ice Cream Trucks

Leave a Reply

